Skip to product information
1 of 1

International Anthem Recording Company

Angel Bat Dawid - Requiem For Jazz (2xLP, Album, Ltd, Pur)

Angel Bat Dawid - Requiem For Jazz (2xLP, Album, Ltd, Pur)

Regular price $40.98
Regular price Sale price $40.98
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Media Condition:  Mint (M)
Sleeve Condition: Mint (M)
Country:    US  
Genre:       Jazz
Style:         Avant-garde Jazz, Gospel

New & Sealed


Limited edition 140g 'Thy Kingdom Come' purple color vinyl, in gatefold heavyweight reverse-board jacket, with A2 poster insert, IARC obi strip and dome-pattern inner sleeves.

Requiem for Jazz - Composed, Arranged, Conducted & Mixed by Angel Bat Dawid

except “My Rhapsody,” from the 1959 Ed Bland film “The Cry of Jazz,” composed by Paul Severson & Norman Leist (Glenayre Publishing Co. BMI), arranged by Angel Bat Dawid.

Lyrics include extracts from “The Cry of Jazz” and the Roman Catholic Liturgical Requiem Missal.

Requiem for Jazz Intros/Interludes Composed, Produced, Mixed & Performed by Angel Bat Dawid

Requiem for Jazz premiered Sept, 30th 2019 at the Reva & David Logan Center for the Arts in Chicago, IL. Commissioned for the 2019 Annual Hyde Park Jazz Festival.

Special Cosmic Guests on “Lux Aeterna - Eternal Light/My Rhapsody”:
Marshall Allen - Alto Sax, Ewi
Knoel Scott - Percussion


A1. Jazz Is Merely The Negroes Cry Of Joy & Suffering
A2. Introit - Joy N’ Suff’rin
A3. Jazz Is The Musical Expression Of The Triumph Of The Negroes Spirit
A4. Kyrie Eleison - Lawd Hav’ Merci
A5. This Endless Repetition Is Like A Chain Around The Spirit. And Is A Reflection Of The Denial Of A Future To The Negro In The American Way Of Life
A6. Dias Ire - Chain Around The Spirit
A7. Another Restraining Factor In Jazz Are The Changes
A8. Tuba Mirum - The Changes
B9. The Negro Experiences The Endless Daily Humiliation Of American Life Which Bequeaths Him A Futureless Future
B10. Rex Tremendae – Futureless Future
B11. The Negro Transforms America’s Image Of Him Into A Transport Of Joy!
B12. Recordare - Recall The Joy
B13. Jazz Reflects The Improvised Life Thrust Upon The Negro
B14. Confutatis - Repression
B15. Through Spirituals, Through The Blues, Then Through Jazz We Made A Memory Of Our Past And A Promise Of All To Come
B16. Lacrimosa - Weeping Our Lady Of Sorrow
B17. Because Jazz Is The One Element In American Life Where Whites Must Be Humble To The Negro
C18. Offerturium - Hostias - Humility
C19. Only When Whites Have Paid The Price In Suffering To Be The Negroes Equal
C20. Sanctus - Holy, Holy, Holy
D21. The Jazz Body Is Dead But The Spirit Of Jazz Is Alive
D22. Agnus Dei - Jazz Is Dead!
. Lux Aeterna - Eternal Light/My Rhapsody
D24. Long Tone For Rayna Golding (A Binti Zawadi Our Future)


Barcode and Other Identifiers:

Barcode 7 89993 99273 7
Matrix / Runout IARC 0061 A 010620163-A-1 Kr SST
Matrix / Runout IARC 0061 B Kr SST 010620163-B-1
Matrix / Runout IARC 0061 C 010620224-C-1 Kr SST
Matrix / Runout IARC 0061 D Kr SST 010620224-D-1


Phonographic Copyright (p) International Anthem Recording Company
Copyright (c) International Anthem Recording Company
Lacquer Cut At SST GmbH
Pressed By TAKT

Data provided by Discogs
View full details